- Yahoo Finance
Adult Protective Services (APS) If someone you know is 18 years of age or older, living in the community and is the subject of abuse, neglect and/or exploitation, contact your county APS office. An APS investigation is a thorough assessment of a potential at-risk adult. Within 72 hours of a referral’s receipt, a face-to-face meeting with the adult by a trained APS social worker is required.
In 2010, New Jersey’s APS law (N.J.S.A. 52:27D-406 to 426) was amended to require health care professionals, law enforcement officers, firefighters, paramedics or emergency medical technicians who have reasonable cause to believe that a vulnerable adult
any report, evaluation or service provided pursuant to the Adult Protective Services Act (P.L. 1993, Ch. 249, C52.:27D) are confidential and not subject to OPRA. APS is permitted to share the results of an APS assessment when directed to do so by a court of competent jurisdiction or when disclosure of
Adult Protection Services. This program exists to serve vulnerable adults; those adults 18 years of age and older living in the community, who lack sufficient understanding or capacity to make, communicate or carry out decisions concerning their well-being and are subject to abuse, neglect, or exploitation. Services are provided regardless of a persons income or assets.
New Jersey Adult Protective Service Providers. Atlantic. Atlantic County Division of Intergenerational Services. Shoreview Building, Room 210. 101 South Shore Road. Northfield, NJ 08225. Phone: 1-888-426-9243. After Hrs: Call local police or 911 in case of emergency. Bergen.
a. If a determination is made by the county adult protective services provider that there is reasonable cause to believe that the vulnerable adult has been the subject of abuse, neglect or exploitation, the county adult protective services provider shall determine the need for protective services. If the vulnerable adult or his legal guardian consents, the county adult protective services provider shall provide or arrange for appropriate protective services, as may be available.
The New Jersey Adult Protective Services Act (APS) became law on February 7, 1994. If an APS worker determines that there is reasonable cause to believe that a person has or is likely to become a vulnerable adult and/or his/her legal guardian consents, the APS worker can provide or arrange for protective services , including making referrals to State, County and local agencies, hospitals or organizations.
the Department of Human Services (1-609-292-3717) or Adult Protective Services (1-800-792-8820). For a Vulnerable Adult: The county adult protective services provider. Contact information for each county may be found on the Department of Human Services, Division of Aging Services’ list of Adult Protective